DIY Coat Stand plus Floor Lamp


I wanted to find a storage for the thupattas, bags and everything my wife  wants to hang (except me, of course). This project has inspiration from several projects and several store alternative..

image

image

image

Main inspiration is for the wooden tree branch light.  But why on the world I want a DIY floor lamp. It’s because I cannot affort to buy floor lamp from store.  Next I want to give it a wood stain so it can have a old timeless look.  Let’s see how I did it.

First I want to a bamboo shop and got a shorter bamboo, so I need to cut it to my size. Next I went to a timber merchant and found a quarter teak wooden base.  Then I took both of them to a carpenter who could dig a hole into the teak base and plant the Bamboo branch.

Wait, it seems to be so much pain for just a floor lamp. So I want to get more mileage out of it and decided to have wooden rungs throughout the height of the Bamboo. This way my wife could unload everything she brings home, while returning from office.

Finding the wooden rung (or) dowels was tricky unless you knew one could get wooden handles of hammer, readily in hardware store.  I needed the bent pipe look like the ones in the store, so I went to Stainless Pipe Workshop and picked a bent one.  This will help the lamp to be projected outwards with most of its weight on the center. Also a hole is drilled in the pipe and bolted alongwith the Bamboo and to carry the electric wire through it.

The lamp shade is actually a plastic cup I bought for $1. Total cost for this lamp is $15. The stainless steel pipe is little pricey about $7.

TODO:  1) inset eyehooks in the bamboo to keep the wire in place. 2) paint the teak base with white enamel to match my room decor.

Leave a Reply

